--

I strongly disagree with this view. As an interviewing I have always reviewing GitHub profiles when provided and considered them a plus, compared with them not being mentioned at all.

Perhaps I am a dying breed however.

I do strongly believe having the GitHub profile, at least and especially as a junior showcases some level of passion and interest, and some level of confidence.

However, also having a profile that contains only a university script is not valuable.

I would argue a worthwhile CTO would look out for the same, even if they wouldn't analyse lines of code. I'd expect them to have a prefunctory look. Let's consider Eilon Mustk reviewing your CV, you think he would not review your GitHub profile if you provided it and your CV arrive on his table?

--

--

Adrian Nenu 😺

Software Engineer @ Google. Photographer and writer on engineering, personal reflection, and creativity - nenuadrian.com.